Entering The Final Stage

6 October 2017

Book: Stay With Me by Ayobami Adebayo 

SONG: One More Hello, One More Goodbye by Kenny Rankin

THOUGHT: Every day has a Hello and a Good Bye in it and some are better than others…each one has touched me in some way and that is the realization that I think has made the deepest impression on me to this point…or at least that I can figure out when thinking about what I am doing.

Clearly, this is about walking. It is a sport. It is zen. It exhausts you. It stretches you. It inspires you. I love it for all of these reasons. I am moving to my millionth step in the next few days!

I have always avoided “crack-of-dawn” activities, but the most delightful moments in this trip have been just that.  Dawn is short lived and I still prefer the golden light of sunset, but on this trip I am generally headed to my bed just as sunset starts to creep in. 

Strange fire

Soft embracing light

The recent days since my last entry have been through mountains (not all that high, but they seem like it when you are on the way up – and likewise, when you are coming down.) Even when you think you just don’t even want to turn and look back, because you are too tired, you do and you see that you have been “down there,” you have gotten yourself “up here” and you are headed “down there” into a different place. 

The orange is Fall trees

There is a little village I left down there 4 hrs ago

Looking at clouds from both sides now

Top of Sarria in the Monastery of Magdalena

Wherever your bed is, you heave yourself onto it. You thank your lucky stars if you are on the bottom bunk. You really rejoice if last night’s snorer has decided to go further along and he is not in your dorm again. You realize that fit men snore rarely and chubby ones snore a lot. Women can snore like trucks, but generally they are a downgraded abrasive sound in contrast to their gender counterparts. 

Monastery dorm

Mine all mine for the night

Personal space has a new name


You wish the bathroom was not so far away when you know you will be getting up 2 – 3 times in the night. Those little bags of absorbent pellets I found on line have been a treasure, well worth the weight they put into my pack. But there is a strategy to getting into the secret stance, etc., and it does take some thought and planning. No corresponding photographs will be included.

And I am now in the last “leg” of the journey. I entered Sarria 2 days ago and from here to the arrival in Santiago is the defining activity for getting the actual certificate of completion – The final 100km. With the convergence of all the other Caminos in Sarria, the number of pilgrims has increased significantly. 

I dreamed this one

My walks take me thru clouds and fog and I feel like I am in a story


While this is still an energizing time, I think that getting to the Fisterre section to bring me back to the feeling I get in these small villages with low-volume traffic. It is just so peaceful. 

The sweetest breakfast stop ever

O Cebriero – our highest point

My incredible world for moment or two

All the wild animals


And since I left off several days from the middle section – the Meseta – which is a flat, repetitive part, I will have time to walk from Santiago to Fisterre and Muxia which are the outer limits of the journey. I will arrive at the Atlantic ocean on the northwestern coast of Spain. If I am really lucky it will not rain. I have a real feeling that it will be one of the highlights…but I won’t know that until I get there…I am still here, on a chilly evening, with my jacket on and Fall colors in the trees.

21 thoughts on “Entering The Final Stage

  1. Sis says:

    You are incredible! Love ❤️ you!

  2. Sarah Kelzenberg says:

    I don’t know how you have the energy to share these beautiful vistas with the amount of energy it must take to just WALK!! Thank you, Kimmy Sue.

  3. A MILLION steps. It is hard to comprehend. Congratulations.

  4. Jesse says:

    beautiful!

  5. Wayne says:

    No reply probably cause Karen prints them out and we sit on our fat asses on the couch reading them. Truck on lovely lady

    • kimfederici says:

      Thanks Wayne. I’m glad you’re reading it. Since I hadn’t heard your ‘yep’ or ‘hmmm’ ( you know, all those long winded comments you usually leave) I thought maybe it wasn’t worth it. I am truckin on tho. That’s very much for sure!

    • Karen says:

      Hi sister dear. I ‘ve been following you since you began your incredible journey. It’s must be so unbelievably exhausting. I try to imagine me walking along with you side-by-side. I admire your passion for adventure and discovery and I’m so very proud of you Kim!. Safe travels on the remainder of your “vacation “.
      Love ❤️ you.

  6. Anne Gilhool says:

    Congratulations Kim, you ARE almost there and will soon have that Certificate. You have already accomplished much and hopefully have endured it all for wonderful results for you and for us your fellow travelers, if only by reading your blogs. Thinking of you and looking forward to that picture of you and the Ocean. Bon Voyage friend.

  7. ~Kim says:

    Holy one million!! You’re amazing. Congratulations to you! Love you so much. ❤️

  8. Wayne Florczak says:

    Assuming your gate is about 30 inches (2 1/2 feet) doing the math I have a million steps comes out to 473.5 miles. WHEW! Makes one want to take a long nap.

  9. Anne says:

    I miss you and the Camino so much! We will meet and talk about our “walks” at another time in our lives. THANK YOU for sharing your first 150 KM of the Camino with me. Praying for you! YOU WILL ARRIVE AT SANTIAGO AND FISTERRE AND CELEBRATE YOUR 75th BIRTHDAY! GOD IS WITH YOU!

  10. Gretchen Federici says:

    Such peace and acceptance in your entries here. We can feel the landscape and the accumulation of steps, encounters, discoveries changing you as we read. Oh, Kim. What a journey! I’ll be thinking of you pacing out that one millionth step. Our hearts are with you!

    ——

    PS Took eighth grade to DC this week. Kids with Fit Bits reported 9,000-12,000 steps each day—as well as dozens of staircases climbed, due to our hostel’s broken elevator and eighth floor rooms. With ya in spirit, sister!

  11. Ro Brady Hardiman says:

    Thank you for taking us along on your incredible journey. Loving it and love you lots. With you every step!

  12. Beth says:

    So beautifully written, Kim. That pink “fire” image at dawn is really something. I’m so glad you’ve gotten to experience this! Eager to hear what you have to say about Santiago and Fisterra. Hugs for the way!

  13. Laurie Skillman says:

    Splendiferous, a million steps! Love, peace and joy to you cousin.

  14. Julie Wechsler says:

    A little gem I found on a FB post today:

    “People ought to saunter in the mountains – not hike! Do you know the origin of that word ‘saunter?’ It’s a beautiful word. Away back in the Middle Ages people used to go on pilgrimages to the Holy Land, and when people in the villages through which they passed asked where they were going, they would reply, ‘A la sainte terre,’ ‘To the Holy Land.’ And so they became known as sainte-terre-ers or saunterers. Now these mountains are our Holy Land, and we ought to saunter through them reverently, not ‘hike’ through them.”
    – John Muir

    Saunter on!

    • kimfederici says:

      I think I get this one! Today was a long saunter (about 16mi) but tomorrow I will enjoy moving into Santiago after only 5km. Most of my days I have to go 3km to get coffee! I am considering taking the bus to Fisterre and Muxia and just stating by the beach at the “end of the world”

Leave a Reply

